Primary Curriculum

The Primary School is underpinned by a diverse curriculum that places emphasis on individual skills development and assists students to engage, behave and work at a high level. Academic rigour is a key element within the school, as we ask students to strive for personal best achievements on a daily basis.

Primary classes are provided with a wide range of learning opportunities across 7 areas of learning. As much as possible primary students are able to appreciate the opportunities of an F- 12 school, in accessing specialist teachers and specialist teaching areas. 

Primary school staff actively promote learning in the 7 learning areas; constantly sourcing learning opportunities through extra-curricula activities. Parents are strongly encouraged to be part of the learning environment that fosters play and resource based learning, student initiated learning and cross age peer work.

The Australian Curriculum is taught in government schools for Foundation to year 10 students.

Teachers use curriculum to:

  • plan student learning
  • monitor and assess student progress
  • report student progress to parents
  • support student wellbeing

Summary overview

Detailed overview



The Australian Curriculum sets out the essential knowledge, understanding and skills students need to learn, and the quality of learning that is expected of the students as they progress through the first 11 years of schooling.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to prepare young people for the future world in which they will learn, and prepares them to respond to the challenges that will continue to shape their world. It sets out the priorities and aspirations we hold for all our young people. The curriculum represents what the Australian community values as the knowledge, understanding and skills that young people should attain.

The Alice Springs (Mparntwe) Education Declaration (December 2019) commits all Australian governments to achieving 2 goals: 

The Australian education system promotes excellence and equity. 

All young Australians become confident and creative individuals, successful lifelong learners, and active and informed members of the community. 

The delivery of a world-class curriculum in Australian schools is one of the actions to achieve these goals. 

The primary audience for the Australian Curriculum is teachers. It is written in plain and concise language using the vocabulary appropriate for professional practitioners of each learning area.

The F–10 Australian Curriculum is implemented in schools according to the timelines and approaches determined by their state and territory education and curriculum authorities.

History of the  Australian Curriculum

There are a range of materials available that explain the initial development and evolution of the Australian Curriculum. In 2009, the council of Commonwealth and state and territory education ministers approved The Shape of the Australian Curriculum document, which guided the development of the Australian Curriculum and has continued to be updated with each development.

The review of the Australian Curriculum undertaken in 2020–21 has led to the development of the Australian Curriculum Version 9.0.

The three dimensions of the Australian Curriculum


The Australian Curriculum is designed to help all young Australians to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. Presented as a developmental sequence of learning from Foundation - Year 10, the Australian Curriculum describes to teachers, parents, students and others in the wider community what is to be taught and the quality of learning expected of young people as they progress through school.

The three-dimensional design of the Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum recognises the importance of disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding alongside general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities.

Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are described in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages. The latter four learning areas have been written to include multiple subjects, reflecting custom and practice in the discipline. In each learning area or subject, content descriptions specify what young people will learn, and achievement standards describe the depth of understanding and the sophistication of knowledge and skill expected of students at the end of each year level or band of years.

Click here to view the Foundation - Year 2 Curriculum(V8.4)

Click here to view the 3-6 Curriculum(V8.4)

Primary Handbook(V8.4) - click on images


Click on the following images for more information about the Australian Curriculum learning areas(V8.4):

General_Capabilities_Logo.PNG Cross_curriculum_Priorities_Logo.PNG


Wirreanda Terrace
Hawker SA 5434

Phone: 08 8648 4003
Fax: 08 8648 4149