Hawker Area School Staff

Hawker Area School and its staff are committed to providing quality learning experiences in a safe environment and giving students every opportunity to achieve their personal best. We also encourage students to reach their full educational potential whilst shaping their own positive school culture and equipping them to make positive contributions in the wider community.

Hawker Area School recognises that all teachers are vital sources of support and, together with families, are the foundation to the success of all students. The core subjects offered at the school are English, Mathematics, Science, HASS (Humanities and Social Sciences), Art, Health and Physical Education.

Our staff keeps abreast of best practice in teaching through ongoing professional development to not only effectively deliver curriculum but also engage and inspire students.

Absent - Julieanne Ashenden, Rachel Sinkinson-McInnis. 

Hawker Area School Staff 

Principal - Mr Daren O'Neill

Business Manager -
Mrs Julieanne Ashenden
 School Teacher - Mrs Amanda Hilder

Yr 3 - 6 Teacher - Ms Ingrid Condon

Foundation - Yr 2 School Teacher -  Miss Victoria Barratt Middle / Senior School Teacher - Priya Moyle

Science / Maths School
Teacher -
Ms Sharon Lam 

Design and Technology
School Teacher -
Mr Travis McDonald

Teacher Librarian / AET School Leader - Mrs Ailsa Green

Karmela.png Robyn.jpg
ICT / School Services Officer - Mr Steve Green ACEO Aboriginal Community Engagement Officer - Ms Karmela Coulthard

School Pastoral Care Worker - Mrs Robyn MsInnic

Howard_Image.png lisa.O.png
Community Library Assistant - Miss Amy Simpson Acting Business Manager -  Mr Howard Yam

School Services Officer -  Mrs Lisa O,Neill

School Service Officer -
Mrs Leonie McKenzie
School Service Officer - MS Anna Oakey

School Services Officer - Mr Samuel Weinert



School Services Officer - Mr Benjamin Gent  


Student Leadership

'SMaSH' - Hawker Area School Student Representative Council. 

(Students Meeting at School at Hawker)

Our SMaSH committee meets twice a term. The meetings are designed to review information from classes including suggestions for school activities, policy changes and fundraising. This structure of student leadership within the school will assist students to further develop their leadership skills, voice their opinions, share their concerns and promote school spirit.

This is also the forum for general students’ grievances to be discussed.

Each year the SMASH Committee raises hundreds of dollars for various charities by taking part in selling merchandise and organising casual days at the school.

Student Representative Council 2023


Back row: Ken Anderson, Angus McInnis, Harry McAuley, Lachlan Hilder, Madi Hately, Emily Wallis, Ailsa Green

Front row: Pjay Milera, Archie Morgan, Lily Morgan, Ollie Du Bois, Rowan Bevan

Absent: Annabelle Allen, Stef Teague

Wirreanda Terrace
Hawker SA 5434

Phone: 08 8648 4003
Fax: 08 8648 4149